NuPECC (Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee) logo ESF (European Science Foundation) logo
The Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee is an Expert Committee of the European Science Foundation


Terms of Reference

for the Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee (NuPECC), an ESF Associated Committee, as mutually agreed upon on 23 April 1997.

NuPECC is an Associated Committee* of the European Science Foundation (ESF).

The Committee is supported by its Subscribing Institutions which are in general Member Organisations of the ESF involved in nuclear science and research or research facilities.

The Terms of Reference of the Committee and eventual changes are agreed by the ESF Assembly. Beyond the Terms of Reference of NuPECC, the Statute of the ESF shall apply where relevant.


The objective of NuPECC is to:

  • strengthen European Collaboration in nuclear science through the promotion of nuclear physics and its trans-disciplinary use and application in collaborative ventures between research groups within Europe and particularly those from countries linked to the ESF.
In pursuing this objective the Committee shall

  • define a network of complementary facilities within Europe and encourage optimisation of their usage;
  • provide a forum for the discussion of the provision of future facilities and instrumentation; and
  • provide advice and make recommendations to the ESF and to other bodies on the development, organisation, and support of European nuclear research and of particular projects.


The Members of the Committee shall be drawn among experts active in nuclear science and research and proposed by the Subscribing Institutions to NuPECC. They shall be appointed by the ESF Executive Council in general for a three-year period, after consultation between the Committee, the ESF and the Subscribing Institutions of NuPECC. The Committee Chairman shall be appointed by the ESF Assembly. The distribution of Members across the different European countries and organisations should aim to reflect the activities in nuclear science and research in the different scientific fields and the different countries. The ESF Executive Council may appoint one of its own Members as a Liaison Member. The ESF Scientific Secretary primarily concerned with nuclear science and nuclear research facilities shall act as the Liaison Secretary of ESF and attend the Committee's meetings to assist in its deliberations. The relevant ESF Standing Committee and NuPECC may appoint liaison members.

The Subscribing Institutions of the Committee shall be involved in nuclear science and research or in multi-national nuclear research facilities in Europe and generally belong to the Member Organisations of the ESF. Beyond these, a European institute or agency can be accepted as a Subscribing Institution of NuPECC if its statutes are consistent with those of NuPECC and the ESF.

New Subscribing Institutions shall be appointed by the ESF Executive Council, after consultation with the Committee and the existing Institutions. The term of Subscribing Institutions shall continue as long as the association of the Committee with the ESF is in effect. An Institution may withdraw from the Committee at the end of the financial year immediately following that in which it gives notice of the withdrawal.

Modus Operandi of the Committee

The Committee shall coordinate its work through plenary meetings on a regular basis, at least annually, at which all business items shall be decided. The Committee may set up a work plan for its term.

The Committee may appoint its own Scientific Secretary and may set up a charter for its modus operandi.



The Subscribing Institutions of NuPECC shall contribute to the basic budget of the Committee which shall cover its operational activities including the remuneration of the Committee's Scientific Secretary and its liaison costs with the ESF. The contribution of every Subscribing Institution shall depend on the number of Committee Members it nominates and supports. Members' travel costs for attending the Committee's regular plenary meetings shall be reimbursed directly by the respective Subscribing Institutions.

In agreement with the ESF, the Committee may receive specific contributions from third parties or ad hoc contributions from Subscribing Institutions or from ESF Member Organisations. Changes in the basic budget shall be approved by the ESF Board.

Financial modus operandi:

The Committee shall agree on an annual budget plan which is within the confines of the inflow from the Subscribing Institutions and/or third parties, and which takes into account the current economic environment. The Committee shall appoint a Treasurer who shall oversee its budget in close consultation with the ESF.

The financial commitments for the Committee's work shall be made by the ESF. The NuPECC budget is held on a special account established and operated by the ESF.

Reporting and Advising

The Committee shall report on a regular basis to the ESF and the relevant ESF Standing Committee(s).

In providing advice and making recommendations to external bodies, the Committee shall act responsibly and independently. It shall, as a constituent organ of the ESF, ensure, through the ESF Liaison Secretary, that the ESF Board and the relevant ESF Standing Committee(s) are consulted before the disclosure of such advice.

Periodic Review; Renewal of the Committee's Association and Term

The ESF Executive Council shall periodically - every five years at the latest - initiate a review of the work of the Committee and its association with the ESF. Every renewal of the Committee's term shall be agreed by the ESF Assembly.

HUK/MCL - 24.04.97
ToR '96.doc

* Since 2000 an Expert Committee